Qu’est-ce que la Médecine Intégrative ?

La médecine intégrative est la combinaison de la médecine conventionnelle et des approches complémentaires. La médecine complémentaire se distingue de la médecine alternative dans la mesure où elle « complète » ou accompagne une autre approche. La médecine conventionnelle est le type de traitement que l’on trouve généralement dans les soins médicaux courants occidentaux. Si vous vous rendez dans un hôpital dans la plupart des pays du monde, vous recevrez des soins basés sur le même ensemble de preuves. Les médecins intégrateurs reconnaissent la valeur essentielle de la médecine conventionnelle, qui repose sur des recherches et des preuves de plus en plus rigoureuses et des thérapies alternatives, qui peuvent ou non être également fondées sur la recherche, mais qui découlent de remèdes très anciens, du bon sens, de rapports anecdotiques et de l’expérience.

Le monde occidental enregistre de plus en plus de crises de santé découlant des aspects malsains du mode de vie moderne. Les maladies liées à l’obésité, les maladies cardiovasculaires, le diabète de type 2 et certaines formes de cancer sont en augmentation et sont étroitement liées à une mauvaise alimentation et à un mode de vie sédentaire. La médecine conventionnelle moderne est incroyable, mais il y a des limites à ce qui peut être réalisé par une seule approche, et il existe des limites à l’utilisation des traitements invasifs ; il y a des moments où une médecine agressive est nécessaire, et d’autres où elle n’est pas appropriée. La médecine intégrative a toujours préconisé un mode de vie sain comme le meilleur moyen d’atteindre et de maintenir la santé – même la promotion conventionnelle de la santé publique adopte une approche de plus en plus intégrative pour prévenir les maladies. Une alimentation saine, l’exercice physique, l’autogestion de la santé et une communauté solide font tous partie intégrante de cette médecine intégrative.

Grâce à une approche intégrative de la médecine, les praticiens traitent leurs patients de manière holistique, en évaluant pleinement leur mode de vie et leur santé individuellement et de façon interactive, ainsi que la maladie pour laquelle ils sollicitent un traitement. Les médecins intégrateurs peuvent être moins dépendants des organigrammes et des enseignements de la médecine conventionnelle et peuvent choisir le traitement le plus efficace de la médecine conventionnelle et alternative pour créer un plan de traitement réellement individualisé.

Que fait un Médecin Intégrateur ?

Lors d’un rendez-vous avec un médecin intégrateur, ils vous évalueront non seulement en tant que patient atteint d’une maladie qui a besoin d’un traitement, mais aussi en tant que personne dans son ensemble. Ils reconnaissent que les choix et les modes de vie des personnes sont d’une importance suprême et encouragent votre participation égale dans l’apprentissage et le traitement des maladies[i]. La première rencontre entre un médecin intégrateur et une personne cherchant un traitement prendra plus de temps qu’un rendez-vous chez un médecin conventionnel – ce temps est essentiel pour évaluer pleinement la personne : ses priorités, ses valeurs et les facteurs de stress de sa vie, ses besoins et ses attentes quant au résultat de ce traitement[ii]. Le patient peut être accompagné de membres de sa famille ou d’un ami pour le soutenir, et s’il le souhaite, sa famille peut constituer un élément précieux dans cette démarche.

Un médecin intégrateur évaluera son patient en discutant avec lui et en l’examinant physiquement, si nécessaire – il s’assurera toujours que son patient est à l’aise et qu’il comprend ce qui se passe à chaque étape du traitement et peut prévoir un chaperon si nécessaire. Certains médecins intégrateurs travaillent dans des centres de santé et des cliniques et d’autres visitent les patients à domicile. Les cliniques vous aideront en matière d’accès, de mobilité et d’autres besoins.

Que peut-on traiter avec la Médecine Intégrative ?

En théorie, tout ce qui peut être traité avec une approche intégrative. Comme la médecine intégrative combine les meilleures parties des traitements conventionnels, complémentaires et alternatifs, rien n’est hors limites. Lorsque le meilleur traitement pour une maladie est une approche conventionnelle mais à laquelle les bénéfices peuvent être multipliés ou les effets secondaires atténués par une thérapie complémentaire, cette approche est appelée médecine intégrative. Lorsqu’une évaluation complète d’une personne malade permet de déterminer le type de traitement le plus efficace pour elle en tant qu’individu, il s’agit de la médecine intégrative.

La médecine intégrative signifie une pratique non restrictive, la possibilité de choisir les meilleurs traitements pour les individus ainsi que l’ouverture d’esprit nécessaire pour s’adapter aux réactions et aux circonstances changeantes[iii]. En plus de l’évaluation holistique des besoins de l’individu, un praticien intégrateur s’efforcera de trouver une approche aussi sûre, naturelle et non invasive que possible, tout en offrant le traitement le plus efficace qui convient les besoins médicaux de l’individu[iv].

Pourquoi choisir la Médecine Intégrative ?

Le Budwig Center[v] est dirigé par des professionnels chevronnés de divers horizons[vi] – nous disposons de médecins ayant des bases en médecine conventionnelle, de naturopathes hautement qualifiés et d’une équipe pluridisciplinaire pour satisfaire à tous les besoins de nos clients. L’étude de la santé et de la médecine est aussi vieille que l’humanité et nous pensons que pouvoir choisir les meilleures pratiques de toutes les cultures et disciplines est l’un des plus grands cadeaux de notre époque moderne.

Avec la médecine intégrative, aucune approche n’est interdite et aucun sujet n’est tabou. Les médecins intégrateurs respectent et utilisent la médecine conventionnelle, excellente et fondée sur des preuves cliniques, mais n’écartent pas les traitements qui donnent des résultats ou suivent simplement le bon sens, même s’ils ont été soumis à moins d’essais que certains traitements conventionnels. La médecine intégrative comprend la promotion de la santé et valorise une approche visant à prévenir les problèmes lorsque possible.

La médecine intégrative offre le meilleur de toutes les branches de la médecine, les thérapies alternatives et complémentaires, sans se limiter aux sujets de recherche triés sur le volet de la recherche médicale conventionnelle[vii]. La meilleure façon de savoir si ceci vous convient est toutefois de consulter un médecin intégrateur holistique. Une évaluation complète de vous et de vos besoins déterminera la démarche adoptée et votre traitement. La médecine intégrative peut offrir des options de toutes ou de certaines branches de traitement et les médecins intégrateurs peuvent recommander des soins salvateurs sans sacrifier votre qualité de vie.

Au Budwig Center, nous continuons à faire ce que nous faisons parce que nous voyons les résultats.

[i] Maizes, V., Rakel, D. and Niemiec, C., 2009. Integrative medicine and patient-centered care. Explore: The Journal of Science and Healing, 5(5), pp.277-289. https://doi.org/10.1016/j.explore.2009.06.008

[ii]Snyderman, R. and Weil, A.T., 2002. Integrative medicine: bringing medicine back to its roots. Archives of Internal medicine, 162(4), pp.395-397.  https://doi:10.1001/archinte.162.4.395

[iii]Viscuse, P.V., Price, K., Millstine, D., Bhagra, A., Bauer, B. and Ruddy, K.J., 2017. Integrative medicine in cancer survivors. Current opinion in oncology, 29(4), p.235.  https://dx.doi.org/10.1097%2FCCO.0000000000000376

[iv] Chen, L. and Michalsen, A., 2017. Management of chronic pain using complementary and integrative medicine. Bmj, 357, p.j1284. https://doi.org/10.1136/bmj.j1284

[v] https://budwigcenter.com/

[vi] https://budwigcenter.com/about-us/

[vii] Frenkel, M.A. and Borkan, J.M., 2003. An approach for integrating complementary–alternative medicine into primary care. Family practice, 20(3), pp.324-332. https://doi.org/10.1093/fampra/cmg315

Submit A Comment

Votre adresse électronique sera masquée. Les champs obligatoires sont marqués d'un *.

Recent Posts

10 RAISONS POUR LESQUELLES BEAUCOUP DE GENS CHOISISSENT LE CENTRE BUDWIG

La massothérapie rythmique, qu’est-ce que c’est?

Programmes de soins à domicile au Budwig Center

Programme Spécial pour la Santé et Adhésions à Budwig

Download Budwig Guide

Helpful Links

Doctor Johanna Budwig Bio

Budwig Diet & Food Plan

Contact Us

Testimonial

Download the FREE Budwig Guide

Enter your email address and we'll send you the Free Guide as well as occasional updates and tips regarding the Budwig Protocol. Thanks for subscribing! 

You have Successfully Subscribed!

What is Integrative Medicine?

What is Integrative Medicine?

Integrative medicine is the combination of conventional medicine and complementary approaches. Complementary medicine is different from alternative medicine in that it ‘complements’ or goes alongside another approach. Conventional medicine is the type of treatment usually found in Western mainstream healthcare – if you go to a hospital in most countries in the world, you will receive care which is based on the same body of evidence. Integrative doctors recognize the essential value in conventional medicine, which is based on increasingly stringent research and evidence, and alternative therapies, which may or may not be as research-based, but which stem from age-old remedies, common sense, anecdotal reports, and experience.

The Western world reports more and more health crises stemming from the unhealthy aspects of a modern lifestyle. Obesity-related illness, cardiovascular disease, type 2 diabetes and some forms of cancer are on the rise and are closely linked with poor diet and a sedentary lifestyle. Modern conventional medicine is incredible but there are limits to what can be achieved by a single approach, and there are limits to what invasive treatments should be used for; there are times when aggressive medicine is necessary, and times where it is not appropriate. Integrative medicine has always advocated for healthy living as the best way to achieve and maintain health – even mainstream conventional public health promotion is taking an increasingly integrative approach to preventing disease. Healthy eating, exercise, self-care and a strong community are all

With an integrative approach to medicine, practitioners aim to treat their patients holistically, based on a full assessment of their interactive and individual lifestyle and health, as well as the condition they’re seeking treatment for. Integrative doctors can be less dependent on the flow charts and proformas of conventional medicine and can choose the best-evidenced treatment from both conventional and alternative medicine to create a truly individualized treatment plan.

What does an Integrative Doctor Do?

At an appointment with an Integrative Practitioner, they will assess you not just as a patient with a condition that needs treatment, but as a whole person. They recognize people’s choices and lifestyles as of paramount importance and encourage true equal partnership in learning about and treating conditions[i]. The first meeting between an integrative doctor and a person seeking treatment will take longer than a normal conventional doctor’s appointment – this time is essential to fully assess the person: the priorities, values, and stressors of their life, their needs, and desires for an outcome from this treatment[ii]. The patient can bring family members or a friend to support them, and if they wish, their families can be a valuable part of the partnership of care.

An integrative doctor will assess their patient both by talking with them and by physical examination as appropriate – they will always ensure that their patients are comfortable and understand what is happening at every step, and will be able to arrange a chaperone if needed. Some integrative doctors work in health centers and clinics, and some can visit people at home. Clinics will be able to facilitate assistance for access and mobility requirements or other extra needs.

What can Integrative Medicine Treat?

In theory, anything that can be treated with an integrative approach. As integrative medicine combines the best parts of conventional, complementary and alternative treatments, nothing is off-limits. Where the best treatment for a condition is a conventional approach, but the benefits of that can be enhanced, or the side-effects mitigated, by a complementary therapy, that is integrative medicine. Where a truly holistic assessment of an unwell person helps to determine the type of treatment that is likely to work best for them as an individual, that is integrative medicine.

Integrative medicine means non-restrictive practice and a chance to choose the best treatments for individuals, and the open-mindedness to adapt to changing responses and circumstances[iii]. As well as holistically assessing the needs of the individual, an integrative practitioner will strive to find an approach that is as safe, natural, and non-invasive as possible, while still giving the most effective treatment to suit the medical needs of the individual[iv].

Why Should I Choose Integrative Medicine?

The Budwig Center[v] is run by experienced professionals from a range of backgrounds[vi] – we have medical doctors with grounding in conventional medicine, highly qualified naturopaths, and a multi-disciplinary team to call on for all of our clients’ needs. The study of health and medicine is as old as humanity, and we believe that being able to choose the best approaches from all cultures and disciplines is one of the greatest gifts of the modern age.

With integrative medicine, no approach is off-limits, and no subject is taboo. Integrative doctors respect and utilize the excellent clinically researched evidence base for conventional medicine, but do not dismiss those treatments which show results or simply follow common sense, even if they have not been the subject of as many trials as some conventional treatments. Integrative medicine includes health promotion and values an approach designed to prevent problems where possible.

Integrative medicine offers the best of all branches of medicine, alternative and complementary therapies, unrestricted by the cherry-picked research topics of conventional medical research[vii]. The best way to find out if it’s for you, however, is through a consultation with a holistic integrative practitioner. A full assessment of you and your needs will guide your treatment and management, health and lifestyle. Integrative medicine can offer options from all or any branches of treatment, and integrative doctors can recommend health-saving care without compromising your quality of life.

At Budwig Center, we keep doing what we do because we see the results.

[i] Maizes, V., Rakel, D. and Niemiec, C., 2009. Integrative medicine and patient-centered care. Explore: The Journal of Science and Healing, 5(5), pp.277-289. https://doi.org/10.1016/j.explore.2009.06.008

[ii]Snyderman, R. and Weil, A.T., 2002. Integrative medicine: bringing medicine back to its roots. Archives of Internal medicine, 162(4), pp.395-397.  https://doi:10.1001/archinte.162.4.395

[iii]Viscuse, P.V., Price, K., Millstine, D., Bhagra, A., Bauer, B. and Ruddy, K.J., 2017. Integrative medicine in cancer survivors. Current opinion in oncology, 29(4), p.235.  https://dx.doi.org/10.1097%2FCCO.0000000000000376

[iv] Chen, L. and Michalsen, A., 2017. Management of chronic pain using complementary and integrative medicine. Bmj, 357, p.j1284. https://doi.org/10.1136/bmj.j1284

[v] https://budwigcenter.com/

[vi] https://budwigcenter.com/about-us/

[vii] Frenkel, M.A. and Borkan, J.M., 2003. An approach for integrating complementary–alternative medicine into primary care. Family practice, 20(3), pp.324-332. https://doi.org/10.1093/fampra/cmg315

Submit A Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Recent Posts

How To Take Care Of Your Teeth And Mouth

Positive Self-Talk – How to Talk Yourself into Being Healthier and Happier

Alkaline Forming Foods For A Balanced And Healthy Diet

Starve Cancer With The Keto-Budwig Diet

Download Budwig Guide

Helpful Links

Doctor Johanna Budwig Bio

Budwig Diet & Food Plan

Contact Us

Testimonial

Download the FREE Budwig Guide

Enter your email address and we'll send you the Free Guide as well as occasional updates and tips regarding the Budwig Protocol. Thanks for subscribing! 

You have Successfully Subscribed!